Honors College Convocation 2017

Susan Davies Feature

On September 21, Honors College Convocation took place in the GC Ballroom. New students were inducted into Honors and the Dean’s Engagement Awards, Dean’s Service Awards, ARCH Research Award, and Dean’s Excellence Award were presented by Dean Espinosa. Following the presentation of the awards, students were instructed to pin their Honors pins to their shirts, and a special performance by DJ Topher ended the festivities.

Congratulations to all our Award recipients!

Dean’s Excellence Award
Jose Maldonado

ARCH Research Award
Alexis Smoot

Dean’s Engagement Award
Lauren Zuleta (166)
Alberto Garcia Marrero (77)
Donovan Valentin Torres (55)
Jessica Williams (47)
Shreeja Patel (45)
Adam Levine (41)
Andres Arnavat (40)
Danielle Tepsitch (38)
Ana Bobay (36)
Katherine Tchir (36)

Dean’s Service Award
Christina Franco – 522 hours at Saint John Bosco Church.
Katelyn Bourke – 500 hours as Hope Director for Relay for Life at FIU.
Rudy Constanda – 480 hours at the Department of Homeland security.
Sumaiya Khandaker – 389 hours at Nicklaus children’s Hospital.
Faith Sola – 367 hours at psychobiological research lab under Dr. Robert Lichliter)
Simon London – 257 hours volunteering at Panther Life special Olympics and Baptist Hospital)
Sabrina Rosell – 250 hours
Jose Rivero – 250 hours at the State Attorney’s office in Miami.
Jessica Hernandez – 231 hours at Nicklaus Children’s Hospital and tutoring at Jorge Mas Canosa Middle School)
Maria Aucar – 228 hours at Nicklaus Children’s Hospital in the Neonatal Intensive Care unit.